Best Practice setup Development environment OS X and Linux

Hi,

I am new to Ruby and Rails (but experienced developer) I use both a Linux workstation and MacBook Pro OS X to do development work. I wanted to know what the recommended setup would be for a flexible development environment? I see there are many releases of ruby and rails. So I have setup rvm (Ruby Version Manager) to allow configuring and switching between different rubies... But I am concerned the rvm environment and gems etc. are all configured for the local user which could introduce issues when integrating with system wide resources like Apache2, MYSQL So I am overwhelmed... Your suggestions are appreciated.

Best Regards

Dale Ackerman

Hi Dale,

Previously, I've just used Ruby 1.8.7 and an upgraded copy of the base RubyGems install that came with Snow Leopard. However, I wanted to take advantage of 1.9.1's speed improvements, and since I'm starting a new app, now seemed like the appropriate time to switch, and start writing for the new version of Ruby. Currently, I've got 1.9.1 installed under my /opt directory, and have symlinked ruby1.8 to the default install, so I can switch whenever I want.

There is one issue, though - I have to maintain two different gem directories....

Nicholas

Dale Ackerman wrote:

Hi,

I am new to Ruby and Rails (but experienced developer) I use both a Linux workstation and MacBook Pro OS X to do development work. I wanted to know what the recommended setup would be for a flexible development environment?

What sort of flexibility do you want?

I see there are many releases of ruby and rails. So I have setup rvm (Ruby Version Manager) to allow configuring and switching between different rubies...

Why bother, unless you actually need the bleeding-edge 1.9 (hint: you probably don't yet).