Beginners confusion

Hi,

Sorry if this is stupid questions.

I'm new to Ruby on Rails. I've watched and read a couple of tutorials and think I get a decent grip on how things work.

Some stuff puzzles me though:

1) All the tutorials show who you do things in subdirectorys (for example: localhost/myproject/blog). How do I do to get things to happend in the root of my project?

2) What are the difference between the directories \app\views and \public , how do you use them in conjunction with each other?

3) How do you separate the frontend from the backend? Let's say that you have a blog with posts and comments. Then you want yourself to be able to CURD both posts and comments and everyone else just be able to add comments.

What I've seen of Rails seams great but it's sort of hard to let go of all the control you felt like you had when doing everything by hand. On the other hand is so sweet that things just happend (you know what i mean).

Thanks in advance!

Also sorry for bad english.

Alfred

First off, I'm going to second Terry's recommendation that you work through a full book on rails. While the beginner tutorials are great for giving you an overview of a particular task, you're not going to get a firm grasp of the big picture in rails just from tutorials. A book will fill in a lot of the gaps for you.

prtscr wrote:

1) All the tutorials show who you do things in subdirectorys (for example: localhost/myproject/blog). How do I do to get things to happend in the root of my project?    This is called routing. The root of your project is called the default route. Take a look in config/routes.rb, and in particular, at the line which includes

map.connect '', [...]

This is where you would specify what you want your default controller (and action) to be. There are a number of good reference to routing online, if you google for it.

2) What are the difference between the directories \app\views and \public , how do you use them in conjunction with each other?