At home Ruby on Rails server?

I am new to Ruby on Rails development and also fairly new to web development in general, though I do have some experience and a CS degree.

Will it be possible to link my personal hosted website into Rails running on my home computer running XP and Instant Rails? I'm not expecting lightning fast speed in any sense, but will I be able to dish out some pages from home to the world?

In my very limited experience I don't see why it won't be possible.

I do have dynamic IP so I will have to send some sort of update to my hosted account so it knows where I am. Any thoughts on accomplishing that as well?

Any problems I need to know about?

Thanks so much!

Shawn

Most ISPs won't let you host a site using port 80. You have to configure your server using a different port. That's what I did. As for the server, use linux or freebsd, it's just too painful using Windows.

I do exactly what you had planned using Instant Rails on my server for light-duty serving of Rails apps to the world at large. I also have an dynamic IP, so I subscribe to a dynamic IP service to keep the DNS world pointed to my server. There are many to choose from… I use " changeip.com", which costs about $15 a year.

Curt

Or try the original -- dyndns.org -- which is still free, and very well supported by any dynamic DNS client software out there.

J.

Will it be possible to link my personal hosted website into Rails running on my home computer running XP and Instant Rails? I'm not expecting lightning fast speed in any sense, but will I be able to dish out some pages from home to the world?