Write checkbox values in database

Hi,

I am new to rails. Any support from your side would be very helpful.

I have a model called child and another model called childcategory. I have given the code in app/views/children/show.html.erb of child.

<% remote_form_for [@child, Childcategory.new] do |f| %> <p>     <%= f.label :body, " Allowed Categories " %> <br />     <% for category in @cat do %>        <%= check_box 'checkbox', category.categoryname %> <%= category.categoryname %>     <% end %>   </p> <p> <%= f.submit "Update Settings" %> </p> <% end %>

NOw the check boxes are displayed from another model called Filtercategory. When the user checks a check box in the above view, i want the check box value to be inserted in a model called Childcategory. The controller code is as follows.

app/controllers/childcategories_controller.rb

class ChildcategoriesController < ApplicationController

def create      @child = Child.find(params[:child_id])      @catlist = @child.childcategories.create!(params[:childcategory])

respond_to do |format|        format.html { redirect_to @child }        format.js     end    end

end

But when i submit the "Update Settings" button, a new record is created with childid but the category name in the check box is not saved in the table.

Can you say whats the issue. I couldnt solve this.

Any suggestion would be really supportive.

For starters look at how you are constructing your check_box tags. The way you have it written now the categories will not be contained inside the childcategory params. Something like this might get you headed in the right direction:

<% for category in @categories %>   <%= check_box_tag 'child_category[category_ids]', category.id %> < %= category.name %> <% end %>