Where do Gems Live (e.g. CKEditor)

I'm a Rails newbie and I have added the CKEditor Gem which is working okay. To configure the gem though, you have to edit the config file, which is also working when I do that. However, when I push to github and pull to my other computer, the config file is not changed.

This lead me to the following broader question: when you use a gem, where does the code go and how can you make sure it all gets deployed - especially with regards to CKEditor as the other stuff seems to work.

I accept this may be a really stupid question.

Are you using something like rvm/rbenv? if not then you can do "which rails" and you'll get the path where the rails gem is. If you are using a ruby version manager, then it's inside .rvm or .rbenv folder, in a folder called "gems", as you are downloading the gem as a git repository (that's my guess) I assume it will be inside a "bundler" folder.

Javier

Javier Quarite wrote in post #1097393:

I'm a Rails newbie and I have added the CKEditor Gem which is working okay. To configure the gem though, you have to edit the config file, which is also working when I do that. However, when I push to github and pull to my other computer, the config file is not changed.

This lead me to the following broader question: when you use a gem, where does the code go and how can you make sure it all gets deployed - especially with regards to CKEditor as the other stuff seems to work.

Are you using something like rvm/rbenv? if not then you can do "which rails" and you'll get the path where the rails gem is. If you are using a ruby version manager, then it's inside .rvm or .rbenv folder, in a folder called "gems", as you are downloading the gem as a git repository (that's my guess) I assume it will be inside a "bundler" folder.

Javier