We're sorry, but something went wrong...

I am an RoR newb, so bear with me here. I am on an Intel based Mac running OS X 10.4.11

I have started the 'RoR Essentials' tutorial on lynda.com. I have installed (I believe) all the necessary components:

ruby 1.8.7 (2008-05-31 patchlevel 0) [i686-darwin8.11.1] Rails 2.3.8 gem version 1.3.5 mysql Ver 14.14 Distrib 5.1.47, for apple-darwin8.11.1 (i386) using readline 5.1 WEBrick 1.3.1

Following the tutorial:

Created project 'my_app'

$ rails -d mysql my_app   (It is my understanding I need to define MySQL as the database as MySQLite is Rails the default)

Start the server. Access the RoR home page at http://localhost:3000/.

This page displays as expected but...

When I select 'About your application's environment' I get the error

"We're sorry, but something went wrong. We've been notified about this issue and we'll take a look at it shortly."

At this point in the development log I see:

/!\ FAILSAFE /!\ Sun Jun 13 19:22:05 -0400 2010   Status: 500 Internal Server Error   Unknown database 'my_app_development'...

I ignore this error and go ahead and create the ('say') controller (say_controller.rb) per the tutorial:

$ script/generate controller Say

and add the 'hello' method

Attempting then to access:

http://localhost:3000/say/hello

generates the same "We're sorry, but something went wrong." error is returned. I am supposed to get a 'Template is missing' error.

Added to the development log now includes:

/!\ FAILSAFE /!\ Sun Jun 13 19:33:38 -0400 2010   Status: 500 Internal Server Error   Unknown database 'my_app_development'

I have seen a suggestion to revert to MySQL 5.0 but I cannot find where to download it to even try.

Thank you in advance for your support.

I am an RoR newb, so bear with me here. I am on an Intel based Mac running OS X 10.4.11

I have started the 'RoR Essentials' tutorial on lynda.com. I have installed (I believe) all the necessary components: