Vacation Reading Recommendations

I’m looking for a programming related good book(not about ruby or rails ) to stretch my brain while on vacation and away from the computer for a week. Something similar to the classic GOF design patterns or Martin Fowler’s refactoring book. I was an MIS student, not computer science, so I’ve been thinking of cracking a book on data structures or algorithms. Here’s some possible contenders, any other suggestions? Compilers: Principles, Techniques, and Tools Domain-Driven Design: Tackling Complexity in the Heart of Software The Art of Computer Programming Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs

blinking bear wrote:

I'm looking for a programming related good book(not about ruby or rails ) to stretch my brain while on vacation and away from the computer for a week. Something similar to the classic GOF design patterns or Martin Fowler's refactoring book.

/Refactoring to Patterns/ by Josh Kereivsky.

One of my favorites is

Agile Software Development, Principles, Patterns, and Practices by Robert C. Martin

Domain Driven Design is my favorite design-related book. I highly recommend it.

Pat

I'm looking for a programming related good book(not about ruby or rails ) to stretch my brain while on vacation and away from the computer for a week. Something similar to the classic GOF design patterns or Martin Fowler's refactoring book. I was an MIS student, not computer science, so I've been thinking of cracking a book on data structures or algorithms. Here's some possible contenders, any other suggestions?

*Compilers: Principles, Techniques, and Tools*

I really doubt if you can get much out of this book in only a week. Usually, it is used for semester long courses.

*Domain-Driven Design: Tackling Complexity in the Heart of Software*

Unquestionably a good book. Possibly a bit too close to work if you're looking for a mind opener.

*The Art of Computer Programming*