Using a nonstandard foreign key

Hopefully this is an interesting question.

I have a "user" table with a field "email_address". I would like the part of "email_address" after the '@' to be a foreign key to a "companies" table populated by a companies that are clients.

Any pointers on how to do this in rails?

I think this is a bad idea for lot of reasons. First, it is a totally non-standard way of doing things and there is no support in rails for this. Second, there is not a natural relation from a domain to a company. A company might have various subdomains for example.

Acme Corp john@acme.com jane@corp.acme.com

Save yourself a lot of trouble and do this in the standard way. You'll thank me for it.

I believe identifying a persons company from their email address is hardly asking too much. I am new to RoR and it does not bode well for Rails if it can't accommodate such a simple need.

Are there any other options I might have?

While generally I agree with Zack's comment about using the email address as a link not being a good idea (e.g. if you used the email address as the key (and foreign keys in one or more tables) then everytime a user wants to change an address, you have a whole load of records to update.

Also, if you want to use only PART of a field as the identifying key, then the database can't help in this either (foreign key declarations work on column level only); which means that the database can't guarantee referential integrity (i.e. ensuring that you HAVE a company record for every domain).