Update HABTM associations the restful way

Hello,

Sorry if this has been answered in old posts, I couldn't find anything. This has been killing me all the morning :frowning: I'm a bit new to REST, and I'm trying to model my app routes 'restfully', but I get lost on many things. I've been searching how to do this with resources: I have a Service model that has many Sections, and Sections have and belong to many Contents. But the Contents don't have to be in a Section (it's optional). I want to be able to add a content to a section, and remove a content from a section. With nested resources I could do something like this:

If you are adding member methods like "add_content" and "delete_content" then you have left REST behind.

I understand that a Service is a resource that has many Sections. The content already exists, but you want to add it to another section.

HABTM associations are usually processed by a list of checkboxes named "section[contents]". So in your edit form for the Section, you offer the checkboxes. In the update action of the Section, the checkboxes get processed automatically when you update attributes.

David Furber wrote:

If you are adding member methods like "add_content" and "delete_content" then you have left REST behind.

I understand that a Service is a resource that has many Sections. The content already exists, but you want to add it to another section.

HABTM associations are usually processed by a list of checkboxes named "section[contents]". So in your edit form for the Section, you offer the checkboxes. In the update action of the Section, the checkboxes get processed automatically when you update attributes.