undefined method `model_name' for NilClass:Class

I am new to Ruby on Rails and have a very simple foreign key example that is driving me nuts. I am using Rails 3 under Windows Vista and have two tables: users and user_comments. user_comments.user_id should point to the user a comment is about.

In my show view for user I have a link to the new method of user_comments to allow a comment to be created. This throws:

Showing c:/Gpsappm/app/views/user_comments/_form.html.erb where line #1 raised:

undefined method `model_name' for NilClass:Class Extracted source (around line #1):

1: <%= form_for(@user_comment) do |user_comments| %> 2: <% if @user_comment.errors.any? %> 3: <div id="errorExplanation"> 4: <h2><%= pluralize(@user_comment.errors.count, "error") %> prohibited this user comment from being saved:</h2>

(1) What exactly does this error message mean? From other posts I gather this is a null instance of UserComments, but this is to create a new instance?

(2) What are the step-by-step methods I should follow to debug such issues?

Thanks!

I am new to Ruby on Rails and have a very simple foreign key example that is driving me nuts. I am using Rails 3 under Windows Vista and have two tables: users and user_comments. user_comments.user_id should point to the user a comment is about.

In my show view for user I have a link to the new method of user_comments to allow a comment to be created. This throws:

undefined method `model_name' for NilClass:Class Extracted source (around line #1):

1: <%= form_for(@user_comment) do |user_comments| %> 2: <% if @user_comment.errors.any? %> 3: <div id="errorExplanation"> 4: <h2><%= pluralize(@user_comment.errors.count, "error") %> prohibited this user comment from being saved:</h2>

If this is a copy and paste from your result, then look at the block -- you have user_comments (plural) in there, but you refer to user_comment inside the block.

Walter

I had tried that already. My _form.html.erb actually starts with