Unable to Start with Rails.

Hi Everyone..

I am pretty new to Rails. But i have to admit, getting started with Rails is one of hardest thing that i have ever come across! Not matter what i do, i face one issue after the other, and i have posted my issues on some other forums with little or no help. So i thought i would be detailed and precise in what i did and let you guys know step by step of what i did. So its gonna be a long one!

1. Downloaded the Ruby 1.9.3 exe file and installed it in C:\Ruby193. This is the only part which i can do without trouble!! :slight_smile:

2. I installed the latest rdoc gem, because in previous attempts it was causing a lot of problems.

3. Ran command "gem install rails". It did what it had to do and then gave this:

[code]ERROR: While generating documentation for activesupport-3.1.3 ... MESSAGE: error generating ActiveSupport/Inflector.html: incompatible encoding regexp match (UTF-8 regexp with IBM437 string) (Encoding::Compatib ilityError) ... RDOC args: --op C:/Ruby193/doc/activesupport-3.1.3/rdoc lib --title activesupport-3.1.3 Documentation --quiet[/code]

4. After some Googling found a solution and did chcp 1251 and the executed the command "gem install rails". This time it did install, the rails 3.1.3 gem properly.

5. Ran rails -v and it executed properly.

6. Created my own folder "railscode" for my rails codes.

7. Ran "rails new sample_app -T". I am learning from this website:

http://ruby.railstutorial.org/chapters/static-pages#top

Got an exception:

[code]Please update your PATH to include build tools or download the DevKit from 'Downloads’ and follow the instructions at 'http://github.com/oneclick/rubyinstaller/wiki/Development-Kit’ An error occured while installing json (1.6.1), and Bundler cannot continue. Make sure that `gem install json -v '1.6.1'` succeeds before bundling.[/code]