UJS not getting executed upon return, in production only. Works in development

Hello all,

I've got an action that's somewhat heavy (slow) that returns ...js.erb. The action completes fine, and I can see the results in firebug in the console, but the javascript isn't being executed, on the production (more like production test) box. It works fine locally in development env, and if I copy and paste the returned stuff from the firebug console response it will execute just fine. Here's the js erb:

$("#<%=@element_id%>").fadeOut(); $("#<%=@element_id%>").hide(100); $("#FirstTheme").append("<%= escape_javascript(render(:partial => 'tag', :locals=>{:entity_id=>@entity_id, :theme_id=>@theme_id, :entity=>@entity, :element_id=>@element_id, :parent_id=>@parent_id, :tag=>@tag})) %>"); $("#ObsList").html("<%= escape_javascript(render(:partial=>'explore/observation', :collection=>@observations))%>");

I'm using jquery 1.4.2, rails 3. I'm not a jquery expert, so I'm scratching my head as where to look for debugging this. Thanks for any pointers.

Bill

William K. Hatch Jr. wrote:

Hello all,

I've got an action that's somewhat heavy (slow) that returns ...js.erb.

You should probably fix that. Dynamically generated JS is usually a design problem IMHO.

The action completes fine, and I can see the results in firebug in the console, but the javascript isn't being executed, on the production (more like production test) box. It works fine locally in development env, and if I copy and paste the returned stuff from the firebug console response it will execute just fine. Here's the js erb:

And here are my suggestions for doing it with static JS, which might perhaps solve your problem.

$("#<%=@element_id%>").fadeOut(); $("#<%=@element_id%>").hide(100);

If you don't know the element ID in advance, just assign it a known class name when the HTML is generated. Then you can do $(".fade").fadeOut();.