Types of apps to use Rails for?

I am a web developer using PHP and very limited JavaScript. I keep hearing about RoR and am interested in learning it, but before I make the jump I'd like to hear about the types of applications I should be using it for.

On all the tutorials you see big apps like stores, social networking, shopping carts, etc. I don't have any immediate plans to be building something that complex. Here are some examples of apps I *do* use on my sites:

-- Having a menu display on a restaurant website

-- On a band website, allowing members to make schedule adds/changes

-- Also on a band website, displaying a song list and allowing users to sort it

-- Interactive contact forms and "Request a Quote" forms

-- On an artist's site, displaying a portfolio or slideshow of work

I don't currently make real use of any OO language, but I feel that to be a well-rounded and respected web developer, I should learn one. In a previous job I was forced to learn .NET, and I disliked it so much that I don't want to ever see it again. I've also tried out Flex but I find the costs associated with owning and maintaining the software to be prohibitive right now.

All that in mind, can anyone point me in some direction as to whether it's worth it to me to learn Ruby vs. sticking to some PHP framework? Greatly appreciate any opinions!!

Sara Me wrote:

-- Having a menu display on a restaurant website

-- On a band website, allowing members to make schedule adds/changes

-- Also on a band website, displaying a song list and allowing users to sort it

-- Interactive contact forms and "Request a Quote" forms

-- On an artist's site, displaying a portfolio or slideshow of work

Any RoR developer here could write those sites in 30% of the time and 10% of the source code as anyone using a .NET or Java system.

PhP is probably the close second there, with MVC systems now available...