Trying to insert a date

I'm a Ruby on Rails and MySQL newbie, trying to get started with the lynda.com training, so excuse my ignorance. Using Ruby 1.8.6, Rails 1.1.6, and mysql 14.12 Distrib 5.051b for Win32 on a Vista machine (not using the current version of rails as the lynda.com training was using 1.1.6 and using the newest version, some of the examples weren't working (scafolding for example).

I'm just starting to learn how to work with databases. I have a mysql database up and running with an albums table, and have the following code in my controller:

def create     @album = Album.new     @album.title = 'Aftermath'     @album.artist = 'The Rolling Stones'     @album.genre = 'Rock'     @album.release_date = '1966-01-01 12:00:00'     render(:action => 'show_album')   end

I have had no problem reading from the database through other code, but when I do this, and then look at the variables (in my render), album.release_date shows up as null. If I change the input date to a Time.now(), it works fine. (Before I had an @album.save and was getting an error that the release_date was null (and can't be as defined in the db).

Is there a reason why I can't insert the release_date of the album?

Thanks for the help, and again, forgive me if this should be obvious to me.

Swizzle

def create    @album = Album.new    @album.title = 'Aftermath'    @album.artist = 'The Rolling Stones'    @album.genre = 'Rock'    @album.release_date = '1966-01-01 12:00:00'    render(:action => 'show_album') end

I have had no problem reading from the database through other code,
but when I do this, and then look at the variables (in my render), album.release_date shows up as null. If I change the input date to a Time.now(), it works fine. (Before I had an @album.save and was
getting an error that the release_date was null (and can't be as defined in
the db).

On some platforms Ruby's time object can't deal with dates < 1970. Is