This Newbie Wants To Know

Hi All:

I'm a Reading Instructor who just discovered Ruby on Rails. I would like to know if it is possible to design a prog in Ruby on Rails that would be able to count the number of words contained in a text document, determine how long it takes for a student to read the entire document and then give the student her/his WPM (Word Per Minute Rate)?

If this is possible -- where should I start. I am just learning so I don't have a clue. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Howdy William, Are you talking about a plain text document (i.e., not Micrsoft Word but one that's posted to a website in plain text)?

You could easily do something like this. You could do the word count using the information here:

You could then use JavaScript to see how long it takes a student to read the document and press a button.

To start I'd suggest getting a book on Rails. My site has a bibliography of books on it (http://blog.mrneighborly.com/) that should get you started. :slight_smile:

--Jeremy

Hi Jeremy:

Thank you so much for your input and sharing your resources. I will get started with using them.

BTW can you tell me how the command line would look to make this happen?

Thanks again.

Jeremy McAnally wrote:

I'm a Reading Instructor who just discovered Ruby on Rails. I would like to know if it is possible to design a prog in Ruby on Rails that would be able to count the number of words contained in a text document, determine how long it takes for a student to read the entire document and then give the student her/his WPM (Word Per Minute Rate)?

If this is possible -- where should I start. I am just learning so I don't have a clue. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

If the student was willing to click a "I've started reading" button and a "I've finished reading" button then you could use javascript to figure out the time it took.