Thinking of going back to MySql from PgSql. Your thoughts?

Just thinking out loud. about switching from pgsql to mysql. So far, haven't experienced any differences between the two databases. I've been using mysql for the past few years. I like it more because am a mac interface junkie and mysql has sequel pro. Not that this is a determining factor. But pgsql also has navicat (in my opinion, not as good as sequel pro).

The more important thing is, web hosts that I have spoken to have said that pgsql takes up a considerable amount of RAM than mysql... More RAM on a web host means more $$$.

Moreover, since I've switched from Symfony PHP. Most of my other web projects will be hosted with a mysql db.

I am sure there may be other more significant differences. But for my every day use as a web developer, I don't really notice the internal features that pgsql has over mysql.

What are you thoughts

They make Navicat for MySQL too. I love it, couldn't do without it.

That being said, if you really can't tell the difference between PGSQL and MySQL then you're probably better off with MySQL :slight_smile:

Most developers make the switch to PG because they realize they need more advanced DBA features that MySQL doesn't offer. If you're not missing these features, why bother?

My $0.02.

*Cue PG fan trashing MySQL based on technical merits here*

One has said that he/she had to switch to pgsql because of scaling problems with mysql. Is this true? Just thinking of the future

Christian Fazzini wrote:

Just thinking out loud. about switching from pgsql to mysql.

You would be making a huge mistake.

So far, haven't experienced any differences between the two databases.

That's nearly unbelievable unless you haven't been using either much, or unless you've been using the most absolutely basic features.