Testing on Linux VM on winXP 3 times faster than XP

Hello,

Informational post in case any windows developers are interested.

I had heard that ruby on a linux VM running on windows can be faster than on that same install of windows.

I recently got fed up waiting 1min & 30secs for my unit and functional tests to run for a small project (no integration tests yet), and the big lurching pause that happens when running rails in development mode on my Pentium-M 1.7Ghz laptop, I decided to try a linux VM running in the free VMWare player, specifically those provided by jumpbox.com (debian/ubuntu I think) which are supposed to be production ready linux VMs.

I probably should have tried a different VM as I had a lot of hassle installing and configuring postgres instead of the supplied mysql: I'm a bit of a newbie at this linux business and installing rails would have been easier. In anycase it was a waste of time since switching the linux VM rails project to use my windows postgres server just for fun turned out 20% faster?!?! Note, don't use a netbios name in the rails database config: use the machine's ip address else bizarre behaviour.

All in all "rake test" dropped from 90secs to a mind blowing 30secs.

The actual tests themselves run between 2 and 3 times faster, but it seems to be initialization that takes the bulk of the time.

I prefer my windows tools (specifically Notepad++, even though it still doesn't understand rhtml and haml files) and windows explorer, so I am now developing with my project folders on the windows computer but 'mounted' to a folder in the linux VM running rails, configured to use my windows postgres server. The VM uses about 250 megs of RAM having disabled mysql and other stuff.