Suggestion! Rails 6.0.4 ActiveTanant

Hello

I was going to have a new enregration proposal with rails. I think it’s time to add multi tenant to rails. The name ActiveTenant looks very good. The gem files for this job are too old or problematic. Besides, it seems that there are a lot of people who have problems with ActionCable. Some tenant gem files require sub domain. I think a scalable integration tenant_id milia gem file would be nice. A multi-tenant project such as “rails new project activetenant” can even be created when creating the project.

By the way, I’m not a software developer :slight_smile: I’m more on the system and network side. I’m interested in Rails as a hobby. I love Rails.

Regards

1 Like

Thanks for the suggestion. We already have multiple database support in Rails, and I added horizontal sharding support in 6.1. For the most part Rails already supports what you need to do tenant sharding as well. In the case that it didn’t, we’re not going to add a new gem but would instead extend the existing features to have more functionality. If there’s anything specific missing please either send a PR to fix the specific missing functionality or let us know where what is missing.

This was also discussed here ActiveMultiTenant - #6 by eileencodes