Stubbing out ThinkingSphinx for Rspec

Unless someone advises against it, I don't want my Rspec suite to be dependent on having Thinking Sphinx running, as I can often imagine situations where anyone working on my app would want to run the spec without the the search engine being powered up. Is there anyway I can avoid errors like the following;

ThinkingSphinx::ConnectionError in 'Admin::SitePagesController handling GET admin/site_pages should render index template' Connection to Sphinx Daemon (searchd) failed.

Could I stub out the ThinkingSpinx::Connection in the required controller specs? If so, how do I do this? I've tried several methods but, being a newbie, I haven't worked it out yet - for example;

controller.stub(ThinkingSphinx::ActiveRecord::Search).and_return(true)

undefined method `to_sym' for ThinkingSphinx::ActiveRecord::Search:Module

Any suggestions?

in spec helper, overwrite the class that you want to stub (ThinkingSphinx::ActiveRecord::Search) and stub the method itself.

module ThinkingSphinx::ActiveRecord::Search

def stubbed_method-name      # do nothing   end end

put it in the spec helper. as this file is loaded before any spec run (of any file or batch) it will have been the last one to be loaded and hence will do nothing, but still run your specs.

notice you cannot test any method that uses this module since you have overridden it completely. so it will help if you want to check the view renders or your controller does the right thing, but you will not be able to test the ThinkingSphinx functionallity at all.

Thanks Wolas!

Sorry if this seems like a newbie question, what am I supposed replace the stubbed_method_name with?