Some newbie help needed on validating a nested form/model

Been googling and coming up short on finding examples on the best practice for validating nested forms. I'm still a newb so any concrete code examples would be great.

My application is going to allow one to record hockey matches between a home and an away player.

I have a "Match" model which holds some basic match details (date, period length, etc.)

Each "Match" also contains a collection (two) "PlayerGame" model objects. Each of these objects holds the statistics of that person's game (ie score, goals, faceoffs won, etc.) Each has a 'match_id' tying it to the Match model.

The UI should let you perform on CRUD on a match while letting you enter the game details for the two player game models that make up the match. This all works fine. It's validating the nested "PlayerGame" objects where I'm having the trouble.

I'd like to be able set up validations on the "PlayerGame" model and call them.. even if manually.. .from the Match controller. Using "validates_associated :player_games" in my Match model 'sort of' works, but the resulting display messages are all wrong.. you only end up with a generic message "Player games is invalid" for each invalid call.

Are there some examples of what I need to do?

Thanks for any help.

Let me give a follow up example with a more simplified example...

Take a case where you have a "Person" model and a Person can have several "Address" model objects.

You present a simple Person form and you provide fields of "address1" and "address2" just as a starting point.

When the form submits you want to make sure the Address objects validate correctly. (CRUD for the stuff I have working just fine.)

I'd like to keep validations on the Address object. For example...

class Address < ActiveRecord::Base     validates_numericality_of :zip_code (yes I know a validation would be more than that for a zip code, but just as an example.)

Now in ...