Simple parent child view

I have 2 tables (clients and orders). I have create models for them both and the relevant belongs_to has_many declarations.

I've created a controller which has the following code:

def list_orders     @all_clients = Client.find(:all)     @all_orders = Order.find(:all) end

I've created a view which has the following code: <% for client in @all_clients %>   <%=h(client.name) %>   <% for order in @all_orders %>     <%=h(order.detail) %>   <% end %> <% end %>

Now what i want to see is a list of clients with their individual order details listed underneath. Instead of course im seeing each client with *every* client order detail listed underneath. The problem I have is that I dont know how to pass the *current* client id to the *order* loop to get a true parent/child view.

I'm missing something really basic here, but its stumping me at the moment.

Here is what I would do. I'm new to this, so perhaps there is a better way.

I would take out the Order.find statement.

Instead, take advantage of the methods Rails gives you for free when you set up the belongs_to and has_many relationship.

For example, you could use the following inside your main loop:

for order in client.orders

instead of

for order in @all_orders

class Client   has_many :orders end def list_orders     @all_clients = Client.find(:all, :include=>[:orders]) end for client in all_clients   <%=client.name%>   for order in client.orders     <%=order.id%>   end end

Fantastic! Thank you both. For those who want a full listing:

TABLES:

DROP TABLE IF EXISTS `demo_development`.`clients`; CREATE TABLE `demo_development`.`clients` (   `id` int(10) unsigned NOT NULL auto_increment,   `name` varchar(45) NOT NULL,   PRIMARY KEY (`id`) ) ENGINE=InnoDB DEFAULT CHARSET=utf8;