self.variable vs. @variable

Hi everybody,

I am studying Ruby on Rails Tutorial: Learn Rails by Example at railstutorial.org and currently i am studying chapter 7. There are some issues make me confused. It will be great if you help me on these issues.

1). We are creating virtual attributes via attr_accessor and making it accessible via attr_accessible. Is this statement correct? I mean if we create a virtual attribute via attr_accessor cant we use it without declaring it with attr_accessible?

2). What is the difference between self.variable and @variable? Is it something like that we are using self.variable for variables not mentioned in attr_accesible and @variable for variables mentioned in attr_accesible. Is that true?

Best regards... Rushen

Hi everybody,

I am studying Ruby on Rails Tutorial: Learn Rails by Example at railstutorial.org and currently i am studying chapter 7. There are some issues make me confused. It will be great if you help me on these issues.

1). We are creating virtual attributes via attr_accessor and making it accessible via attr_accessible. Is this statement correct? I mean if we create a virtual attribute via attr_accessor cant we use it without declaring it with attr_accessible?

virtual attributes don't differ from normal attributes when it comes to attr_accessible: if you've gone the whitelist approach (ie you've used attr_accessible elsewhere), then attributes (virtual or not) are protected from mass assignment unless you call attr_accessible on them.

2). What is the difference between self.variable and @variable? Is it something like that we are using self.variable for variables not mentioned in attr_accesible and @variable for variables mentioned in attr_accesible. Is that true?