Scaffolding for pre-existing database table in 2.0.1

Hi,

first of all I will apologize in advance for my presumably noobish question, but I'm only starting to learn Rails and am a little confused with all the changes in 2.0.1. There are as good as no tutorials out yet and the 2 or 3 screencasts I've seen deal with the creation of both the app and the database.

Now my problem is that I already have a database with a fair amount of records in it (contacts with columns id:integer, first_name:string, last_name:string). In order to get a simple CRUD interface (that's all I want for now), with the pre-2.0 version of Rails, I could simply "generate scaffold contacts" and the framework would provide me with all the necessary files to get started with (controller, model and views).

When I try the same command ("generate scaffold contacts") in 2.0.1 it will almost do the same thing, but somehow it misses all the fields from the database. The list-view solely contains a long listing of "Show Edit Destroy" lines (no first or last name listed here). When I click on Edit, the form just provides me with an update button. So no fields for first- and last name here either.

Is it supposed to be this way now in 2.0.1? If so, what can I do to bring back the old functionality?

Regards,

Sebastian

Hey Ryan,

thanks for the quick answer.

I tried that multiple times before via the generator function in the RadRails IDE and it didn't work (nothing happened, no error message). It simply didn't create any controllers/views/models. Just now I tried it again via the windows console, et voilà, ROR creates all the classes like it used to. So it seems that this malfunction was due to a bug/2.0-incompatibility in RadRails. Hope, they'll fix this soon!

Thanks again,

Sebastian

And if the table already exists you might want to add --skip-migration

script/generate scaffold person first_name:string last_name:string --skip-migration