Ruby on Rails + Flash Application ?

Hello,

I'm a Ruby on Rails beginner, as well as Flash beginner.. Recently started developing a Web application using Ruby on Rails (I'm using InstantRails on Windows..).. Few days ago the Application's design was changed and now the requirement is a Flash-based Web Application.

Now, this brings me to ask a few question:

* Can I develop an entire ROR Application with Flash? * How complex would such a thing be, if possible? * Is it realistic at all? I mean.. currently I'm using a few plugins (for example - for authentication, authorization..) - can I keep their functionality while fully-integrating Flash? * Are there any materials I should look on?

* In case it's not a realistic goal (which might be the case here) - What tools can I use to create a "Flashy" design feel to the Web App (buttons, menus, etc)? Can I partially integrate Flash into my App? Are there any recommended Plugins/Gems for it?

* Can CSS along with maybe partial flash-integration (assuming it's possible, not too complex and that there are supportive tools around I can use) - supply me with such a wanted design "feel"?

* Any other recommendations? Experiences you can share?

(And hope my question wasn't too clueless..)

tino.

TINODEV wrote:

Hello,

I'm a Ruby on Rails beginner, as well as Flash beginner.. Recently started developing a Web application using Ruby on Rails (I'm using InstantRails on Windows..).. Few days ago the Application's design was changed and now the requirement is a Flash-based Web Application.

* Can I develop an entire ROR Application with Flash?

Sure. But why would you want to? Flash presents serious usability problems for mobile, iPad, and visually impaired users.

* How complex would such a thing be, if possible? * Is it realistic at all? I mean.. currently I'm using a few plugins (for example - for authentication, authorization..) - can I keep their functionality while fully-integrating Flash?

Yes.