Ruby in html.erb files

I have just started learning Rails and Ruby. I have succeeded in building an application so far. However, recently I tried embedding some ruby code in one of my html.erb files with the intention of further formatting the string that was being output. The original string was a set of lines with tab-delimited fields. So, I wanted to put it in pretty print HTML. For this, i used some string functions such as String.lines. When I try to view the said page, I get the following error:

undefined method `lines' for #<String:0x240d448>

The line of code where the error appears is:

@longshortgene.parsed_blast_report.lines { |line| print @line }

And if I insert a require 'String' in the beginning of the file, it still gives me the following error:

no such file to load -- String

I am completely new to Ruby, although I am learning the language parallel with Rails.

Can somebody please help me understand this problem, or point me to a relevant resource?

Thanks!

undefined method `lines' for #<String:0x240d448>

The line of code where the error appears is:

@longshortgene.parsed_blast_report.lines { |line| print @line }

What is @longshortgene.parsed_blast_report ? Did you mean each_line ? Also the variable you're using inside the block should be line, not @line (it's got to match what is in between the | |) You should also parse the result through h or you may output invalid html

Fred

Thanks, Fred. @longshortgene.parsed_blast_report is a string, which is a set of lines, each line consisting of tab-delimited fields. When I print @longshortgene.parsed_blast_report, it prints correctly. It is only when I try to parse it that I get the "undefined method" error for the method "lines". Do I need to create a new String object first using @longshortgene.parsed_blast_report and then use the method lines on it? I am going to try that next.

I corrected '@line' to 'line' and the error still persists.

Thanks!