Roles that are User<>Project Based

Hello... Currently I'm using Devise & CanCan which allows me to create Users with Roles using a (Roles_Users) table.

That's nice, but what I want is to Have Projects in my app and for each project for a user to possibly have a role like (Admin, Viewer, etc)

What kind of Model would work for this?

Models Users has_many: projects

Projects ?

Roles ?

Users_Roles_Projects (user_id, project_id, role_id)

What do you think? I'm a newbie and could use the understanding and thinking from you fine experienced folks. Thanks!

with cancan, in your ability model

can :manage , Proyect do |proyect| proyect.user = current_user end

with this only the proyect’s owner is an admin of the proyect

and i suggest you create model with the role model gem, there really is no need for a role table.

Thanks for the reply. In the example above I'm not sure where the Admin variable is located? Is that in the User's table as a boolean?

The reason for a roles table is that there will be multiple roles (Admin, Member, Viewer, Guest) etc...

I tried finding the role model gem but it didn't come up in a Google Search and I'm curious to learn more, do you have a URL?

Thanks

http://github.com/martinrehfeld/role_model

Enjoy!

Daniel Gaytán

role model is a gem that lets you add roles to the user as a method and saves the role into a field on the user table as a bitmask that is , lets say you have and array like this

ROLES = %w[admin moderator author banned]

this gord in your user model and you have a field in the user table called roles_mask

as you see you can map the roles in the array as a series of bit

[admin moderator author banned]

0 0 0 0

if a user is admin the in his roles_mask field is this

in binary which translate to 8 in decimal format, if the user is

admin and moderator the value is

and that is a 12

As you can see there is no reason to have a roles table in the proyect unless you have
like 20 or more roles.