RESTful routing question

I'm a noob to Rails, Ruby, and REST architecture, so please forgive me if this is a obvious question.

I've got a model ("Team") that aggregates some objects ("Resources"). In the Team view

/teams/show/3

I display the info for the team, along with the aggregated Resource objects. So far so good. I want a form to add a resource, so I put in a form element into the views/teams/show.rhtml file:

<% form_for :resource,       :url => {:controller => "resources" } ,       :html => { :multipart => true } do |form| %> ... fields

<% end %>

Again, so far so good: my resource_controller.rb script gets the form data in its create method.

@resource = Resource.new(params[:resource])     if @resource.save       flash[:notice] = 'Resource was successfully created.'       redirect_to :back     else       flash[:notice] = 'Error creating resource'       logger.info "Save failed" # I see this in the logs       redirect_to :back # @resource is nil in the rhtml page!     end

But how do I get back to the /teams/show page? If I redirect, it seems all info for the model is lost: @resource is nil again. I'm blaming that on the redirect_to, but I can't figure out how to make the render method use the teams controller. I've event tried parsing the originating path out of request.env['HTTP_REFERER'], but besides being butt-ugly code I can't even render that path:

render :template => 'teams/show/3'

tries to render "3.rhtml" while

render:template => 'teams/show'

loses the ID so I get an error. Can I do cross-controller UI?

Thanks for any help, Rod

Most of the time you’ll want to just render the error where you are instead of redirecting. At least, nearly every tutorial or piece of Rails source I’ve looked at does that. Does that make sense or should I give an example code?

RSL

Very important thing to understand: redirect_to *ends the current request* and sends a 302 to the client (the browser). All the state you set up in your controller is gone.