Rails GSOC

Hello guys, Greetings from India.

I am an undergrad pursuing a degree in computer science in India. I have been developing on rails for the past 1.5 years and I am in love with both ruby and the framework itself. I have been active on the IRC helping fellow ruby and rails enthusiasts for a while now. (@sivsushruth)

I have also submitted a few PRs(none accepted though and I get why).

I intended to apply for GSOC this year under the ruby on rails organisation. I have asked about the status of the project ideas on both #gsoc and #rails-contrib, but unfortunately got no response.

Rails is the only organisation I wanted to apply to and I am getting a bit nervous not seeing any posts/blogs/ideas for this year’s GSOC.

It would be of great help if you could let me and other fellow applicants know about the same.

Thank you for your time.

Have a great day ahead.

Warm Regards,

Sushruth

I remember recently seeing an email mentioning this on the mailing list[0] (I coulnd’t find it but my search-fu is severely limited). The application deadline for mentoring organizations was Feb. 20, so I hope we can get the confirmation that Rails signed up as a candidate.

In the meantime you can take a look at the Ruby GSoC repo for some Ruby-related ideas: Home · rubygsoc/rubygsoc Wiki · GitHub

[0] Or maybe it was IRC, I can’t remember! It specifically addressed how the submissions for this year are expected to be more practical than the ones from previous years.

Hi sivsushruth, I hope this might be helpful for you

also please get try to get in touch with Arthur Neves(@arthurnn) https://twitter.com/arthurnn/status/572085221476048899

Hello Sushruth,

glad to hear you’re interested in applying for GSoC to work on Ruby on Rails, we have a wiki page with a few ideas, but you can also propose one of yours in case you have something interesting for the framework.