Question regarding entering data in a has_many relationship.

Hey there,

I'm new to Rails and am learning by trying to write a cookbook application. My question is about the best way to implement adding multiple steps to a recipe.

Imagine I have a recipe that has a title, author, description and a number of steps/instructions. Instead of entering all the steps in a single text box, I'd like to have the user enter each step individually so that I can later list all steps on one page or skip through them one per page, for example.

I'm assuming that the way to do this is to have a separate table that holds the steps for each recipe, similar to the posts/comments relationship in all the blog examples. However, is there a way of implementing this such that a user could add all the recipe details and steps on one page rather than entering the details first and each step on subsequent table saves?

Does that make any sense? Maybe it's a silly way of trying to implement a recipe book in the first place? Thoughts?

Thanks.

Ooh_Gravy wrote:

Hey there,

I'm new to Rails and am learning by trying to write a cookbook application. My question is about the best way to implement adding multiple steps to a recipe.

Imagine I have a recipe that has a title, author, description and a number of steps/instructions. Instead of entering all the steps in a single text box, I'd like to have the user enter each step individually so that I can later list all steps on one page or skip through them one per page, for example.

I'm assuming that the way to do this is to have a separate table that holds the steps for each recipe, similar to the posts/comments relationship in all the blog examples. However, is there a way of implementing this such that a user could add all the recipe details and steps on one page rather than entering the details first and each step on subsequent table saves?