Problem setting log level

Hello

I'm new to both ruby and rails and have problem getting any debug information from the log. When i encounter an "We're sorry, but something went wrong" message, i look in the "log/development.log" and this is all i find:

Started GET "/characters/7" for 127.0.0.1 at 2012-09-23 11:45:34 +0200 Processing by CharactersController#show as HTML   Parameters: {"id"=>"7"}   Character Load (0.2ms) SELECT "characters".* FROM "characters" WHERE "characters"."id" = ? LIMIT 1 [["id", "7"]]   Rendered characters/show.html.erb within layouts/application (22.1ms) Completed 500 Internal Server Error in 25ms

i've also tried setting:

config.log_level = :debug

in config/enviroments/development.rb but the log looks the same.

I'm i missing something here?

Thanks Daniel

Btw I am using Rails 3.2.3.

I have checked that Rails.logger.level = 0 so it should be :debug. And i'm also sure that i'm running in development mode. But still I just get this one line telling me about an internal error wich doesnt help me a bit.

Update:

Seems like the right log level is set. But for som reason i dont see an error message and a stacktrace when encountering an error. Is there more configuration to be done or should this be enough to be able to see the stacktrace?

If you're seeing the "friendly" Sorry message, then you may be in production mode. I only ever see the sorry a problem occurred in production, the rest of the time it's stack traces all around.

Walter

walterdavis: "We're sorry, but something went wrong" is the error message i get. When i start the development server i see "Rails 3.2.8 application starting in development on http://0.0.0.0:3000". log/development.log is the logfile that is used. Seems to me that i'm in development mode.

I have now tried to upgrade to rails 3.2.8, recreate the project but same thing :frowning: