Performance of Markaby, XmlMarkup, Haml Haiku and Malline?

Hi all

I just stumbled over some template engines that claim to make live writing clean HTML easier. I am a quite experienced HTML programmer, who has no problems creating clean, maintainable, valid XHTML code. So I wondered what great benefits I would have from using such template engines except the computing overhead they produce. :wink:

Is there any big advantage why one should switch to using one of them? Or are the benefits too small regarding the computing overhead?

Thanks for your opinions, Josh

I use HAML. I also have no trouble creating valid XHTML but then I tried HAML. Unfortunately, it is hard to explain why it is awesome. First, it removes the unnecessary cruft from html. It brings html into a much more DRY form. So

<div id="example-1" class="example">   <p class="hello">     this is an example   </p> </div>

becomes

#example-1.example   %p.hello     this is an example

it may not seem so amazing now but comparing full html documents with haml, the haml is more concise, easier to change, and it is much easier to see quickly the general flow and hierarchy of the document.

I have done benchmarking on the HAML vs ERB and frankly the rendering speed of HAML is never the bottleneck in an application and the rendering difference is barely noticeable in a real-world environment with proper caching, etc.

There are more benefits but I will stop there. You should really just try an alternative templating language on a single project. If it doesn't fit your taste, you can always go back to the default at any time.

Heh, thanks Ryan. I wasn't even aware of that little gem with the square brackets. You prompted me to go read the full haml reference again.

Ryan Bigg wrote:

Haml is only 5-12% slower than ERB when ran through ActionView according to it's release notes.