HAML makes me love and hate Python

I'm just a rails newbie, but I thought I would point out a small observation.

About a year ago, I was having real trouble making the decision about whether I should learn Ruby or Python. I finally settled on Ruby, one of the reasons being that I didn't want my language to tell me how whitespace should work. (Although the main reason was how object oriented Ruby is)

Although I've never really used Python, I now love it with all my heart thanks to HAML, lol. The whole whitespace thing is amazing in HAML. It is infinitely superior to regular HTML. It's so much cleaner, easier to read, easy to write. It's just amazing. I can't believe I actually have to write "end" after all of my Ruby blocks. I'm almost tempted to write Ruby in HAML so I don't have to do that, lol.

It makes me think that perhaps I misjudged Python, or too quickly dismissed its use of whitespace.

Now, to the flip side of the coin.

I hate HAML with a passion. I can't stand it. The god damn whitespace makes it almost impossible to edit. Although it's easy to write, if you ever make any changes, or want to copy and paste anything, it's i- m-p-o-s-s-i-b-l-e. If you make one change, you may have to re-indent your entire file. Oh my god, I hate it so much.

I couldn't imagine writing an entire program in such a manner. How do Python people stand it? Do they just have good editors? We could really use a HAML editor, I think.

Okay, I'm done with my rants. Oh, and the whitespace thing isn't enough to make me go back to HTML. I will never write HTML again.

Philip

I'm just a rails newbie, but I thought I would point out a small observation.

<snip>

Okay, I'm done with my rants. Oh, and the whitespace thing isn't enough to make me go back to HTML. I will never write HTML again.

Philip