Overwhelmed with choices concerning Rails "best practices"

As someone who has repeatedly tried to sit down and really pick up Ruby on Rails, the one deterrent I continually find is that the best way of doing things seem to change on a daily basis, and half the time nobody can agree with it. Since my programming background is largely self-taught and without any formal CS education, I like to make a list of the "right" way to develop applications in a particular language/ framework so I know that I'm going to be starting off on the right foot; this is in direct opposition to something like picking up a book on PHP, say, and cranking out junk sites and learning bad practices.

In effect my problem is that whenever I sit down to really learn Rails (and I have almost a dozen books on it I've gathered over the past year, although a lot are from the prior edition - I have: AWDWR 3rd Edition, Programming Ruby 2nd edition, The Ruby Way, The Rails Way, O'Reilly's Learning Rails, Ajax on Rails, Enterprise Rails, Apress Social Networking Sites with Rails, and RailsSpace) the community seems to have charged forward and changed its best practices, so it's just added a whole bunch of things I need to learn as well.