Noob question: Creating model associations

I’m trying to create a simple blog app without scaffolding, and I’m having problems with associations.

I’m relatively new to this, and I would love some help. I’m sorry for bugging you with such a newbie question, but I couldn’t find a tutorial about this.

I made my models like this:

model g User username password

model g Admin

model g Poster

model g Post title content

then, I set the associations like this:

User

has_many :admins

has_many :users

Poster

belongs_to :User

has_many :posts

belongs_to :Poster

Admin

has_many: users

then, when I go to the rails console, I cant make a post that belongs to poster, or a post that belongs to poster…

User.create(:name => “joe”)

usr = User.last

usr.Poster.create() ---- returns an error

What am I doing wrong here?

I'm trying to create a simple blog app without scaffolding, and I'm having problems with associations.

I'm relatively new to this, and I would love some help. I'm sorry for bugging you with such a newbie question, but I couldn't find a tutorial about this.

Have a look at the Rails Guide on ActiveRecord Associations. It should help.

I made my models like this: model g User username password model g Admin model g Poster model g Post title content

then, I set the associations like this: User   has_many :admins   has_many :users

Poster   belongs_to :User

If poster belongs_to user then you should also have user has_many or has_one poster. However, going solely on the names of the classes are you sure you want a posters table? Is a poster just a user?

Post   has_many :posts

What?

belongs_to :Poster

Again you have not got the matching has_many

Admin   has_many: users

Again this does not match the spec in users.

then, when I go to the rails console, I cant make a post that belongs to poster, or a post that belongs to poster...

User.create(:name => "joe") usr = User.last usr.Poster.create() ---- returns an error

What am I doing wrong here?