Noob learning DRY

I am very new to RoR (this is my second day). I have started my first application, and want to follow best practices as much as possible. I created a select box that lists all the items in a table column on a new.html.erb page. I then realized I needed to create one on the edit page. I want to use this select box on several other pages as well.

Trying to keep with D.R.Y. I am wondering if there is a better way to do this, instead of putting this statement on every page.

<%= select("note", "project_id", Project.find(:all).collect {|p| [p.name, p.id]}) %>

Hi Greg,

I am very new to RoR (this is my second day).

Welcome!

I have started my first application, and want to follow best practices as much as possible. I created a select box that lists all the items in a table column on a new.html.erb page. I then realized I needed to create one on the edit page. I want to use this select box on several other pages as well.

Trying to keep with D.R.Y. I am wondering if there is a better way to do this, instead of putting this statement on every page.

<%= select("note", "project_id", Project.find(:all).collect {|p| [p.name, p.id]}) %>

Short answer... maybe. You could refactor it into a partial but a one-liner partial usually doesn't make much sense. One part of the DRY rationale is about minimizing lines of code in the code base. That's goodness, but with one-liners you're actually increasing the number of lines of code by one and the size question always needs to be balanced against the performance hit of initializing another class. Don't get too anal with DRY. Opinions vary but, IMO, the real value of DRY is to minimize the number of places you have to go to make changes. So, if you think this select is likely to be used in a lot of places and is likely to change, then you should consider moving it to a partial more strongly than if it's not likely to change.

HTH, Bill

Hi,

Have a look at partials. That's where you can call the same snippet of