Question: Help with select tag

I want to create a select tag from a table. Looking through the API don't believe I could find it. Table has an id and label. Labels would be displayed, id would be saved.

TIA Stuart

a trivial example:

<%= select("node","node_type_id", NodeType.find(:all,:order => "name").collect{|node| [node.name, node.id]}) %>

Dark Ambient escribió:

Thanks I wound up going with this :

<%= @states = State.find(:all, :order => "name") collection_select(:state, :name, @states, :id, :name) %>

Just wondering , this is in the view , I probably should move this to the model, i.e. def list_states ....... end

Or helper or controller, I realize I have all options but since I'm a rails newb open for suggestions.

Stuart

Now I'm having a problem. In my controller I have this: def state @states = State.find(:all, :order => "name") end

When I try to access the @states in the view I get a nil error: <%= collection_select(:state, :name, @states, :id, :name) %>

What am I missing ?

TIA Stuart

I think you need to do that in the action before you use it. I mean, it can't be in 'state' cos that is called when you go to: http://localhost:3000/controller/state

If you want it to be accessed in other places, you will need to put it in those functions, places like 'new', 'create', 'update' etc..

Hope this helps, Cheers Mohit.

Dark Ambient wrote:

Most likely @states doesn’t exist when the view is rendered. In the standard scaffold, you must setup @states in the edit, new and [for the validation errors] in the error part of the update actions.

Regards,

Thomas

The API doc is a bit confusing on collection_select: collection_select(object, method, collection, value_method, text_method, options = {}, html_options = {}) So object I'd think would be State and method I could call list_state (in the controller) or maybe I'm better off putting in the model though that hasn't worked either yet.

Stuart