newbie in ROR need help about its javascript

hello, i'm a newbie using ROR. i have this function below inside my public/application.js and i'm wondering whether i can replace "San Fransisco" and "New York" in this command "setDirections("San Francisco", "New York", "en_US");" with session[:address1] and session[:address2]....??? Please can anyone show me how to do it... "     function initialize() {       if (GBrowserIsCompatible()) {     alert("kyaaaaaaaa")

map = new GMap2(document.getElementById("map_canvas"));         gdir = new GDirections(map, document.getElementById("directions"));         GEvent.addListener(gdir, "load", onGDirectionsLoad);         GEvent.addListener(gdir, "error", handleErrors);         setDirections("San Francisco", "New York", "en_US");       }     } "

One way (not the DRYest or most maintainable, but definately the simplest and it will get you going) is in your view.html.erb file you can put:

<% if session[:address1] -%> <script type="text/javascript">      function initialize() {        if (GBrowserIsCompatible()) {                  alert("kyaaaaaaaa")

map = new GMap2(document.getElementById("map_canvas"));          gdir = new GDirections(map,   document.getElementById("directions"));          GEvent.addListener(gdir, "load", onGDirectionsLoad);          GEvent.addListener(gdir, "error", handleErrors);          setDirections("<%= session[:address1] -%>", "<%= session[:address2] -%>", "en_US");        }      } </script> <% end -%>

And then take it out of application.js

Regards

Mikel

Thanks a lot Mikel... But now i really can't try whether it's working or not... I think there's something wrong with my internet connection now... after i see you code, i'm wondering, if it's possible to write the code inside the application.js file like this code below : "     function initialize() {       if (GBrowserIsCompatible()) {     alert("kyaaaaaaaa")