Newbie having problem with search function

Hi Guys ,

I am a newbie to rails so forgive me if this has been answered before. I am currently doing an inventory management project on RoR and got 3 tables , goods , customers and staff. I used scaffold to generate all of them.

I just generated a new scaffold called search and I need to search values from all 3 tables. i am using the steps from this site ,

http://wiki.rubyonrails.org/rails/pages/HowToImplementSearch

The only change is from Person/people to Book/books .But I keep getting this error

You have a nil object when you didn't expect it! You might have expected an instance of Array. The error occurred while evaluating nil.each

Can someone help? The places where I put the codes are below ,

def search     query = params[:q]     @people = Person.find(:all, :conditions => ["name = ?", query])   end

is in search_controller.rb

the codes for view are in view/search/index.rhtml and search.rhtml. Thank you so much!!

regards billy

billy am wrote:

I just generated a new scaffold called search and I need to search values from all 3 tables. i am using the steps from this site ,

http://wiki.rubyonrails.org/rails/pages/HowToImplementSearch

The only change is from Person/people to Book/books .But I keep getting this error

You have a nil object when you didn't expect it! You might have expected an instance of Array. The error occurred while evaluating nil.each

Can someone help? The places where I put the codes are below ,

def search     query = params[:q]     @people = Person.find(:all, :conditions => ["name = ?", query])   end

is in search_controller.rb

the codes for view are in view/search/index.rhtml and search.rhtml. Thank you so much!!

regards billy    Hi Billy,