nested resources and controllers: I think I'm down the wrong path

Hi,

I'm new to nested resources. I'm surprised to find that to make my code work I need to retrieve the parent model in my RESTful controllers for my dependencies.

So, for example, let's say A has_one B. In controller B I seem to need to refer to parent A, for example:

@b = A.find(params[:a_id]).b

But this doesn't seem right and this change has only seemed to become necessary as I've lately been using nested routes and nested form_for stuff.

Can anyone confirm that using nested routes should not, in fact, require wholesale changes like the one above to dependency controllers?

Thanks,

Grar

Grary Stimon wrote:

Hi,

I'm new to nested resources. I'm surprised to find that to make my code work I need to retrieve the parent model in my RESTful controllers for my dependencies.

So, for example, let's say A has_one B. In controller B I seem to need to refer to parent A, for example:

@b = A.find(params[:a_id]).b

But this doesn't seem right

No, it doesn't. You should always be able to do B.find(params[:b_id]) . What happens when you try?

Best,

Marnen,

Here is the expression of a representative model association in my project:

Parent ... has_one :dependent Dependent ... belongs_to :parent

Here is my complementing route:

map.resources :parents, :has_one => [:dependent, :dependent_2, ...

Here is a change I'd lately made to a _form.html.erb partial in views/ children to make things (kind of) work:

<% form_for([:parent, @child], :url => { :action=>:create }) do |f| %>

Man, I'm vexed!

I feel like I need to understand how form_for must be adapted for use with nested resources.

Grar

[Please quote when replying.]

Grary Stimon wrote:

Marnen,

Here is the expression of a representative model association in my project:

Parent ... has_one :dependent Dependent ... belongs_to :parent

Here is my complementing route:

map.resources :parents, :has_one => [:dependent, :dependent_2, ...