mySQL setup - I'm losing it here.

Newbie here (who else.) I feel confident I can excel in the actual programming of rails apps. But all the tutorials just glaze over mySQL which seems to me, by far, the most problematic area for new users.

I have tried a ton of different things here. I know mySQL is installed and running in one place or another. I don't know how to tell my rails app with the hell to do about it. I do have the "Welcome Aboard" screen showing at localhost:3000 with the following details:

Ruby version 1.8.6 (i686-darwin8.9.1)     RubyGems version 0.9.2     Rails version 1.2.3     Active Record version 1.15.3     Action Pack version 1.13.3     Action Web Service version 1.2.3     Action Mailer version 1.3.3     Active Support version 1.4.2     Application root /Users/rmorourk/Sites/depot     Environment development     Database adapter mysql

When I try to do something with the database here is what I run into.

bio4054059:depot rmorourk$ rake db:migrate     (in /Users/rmorourk/Sites/depot)     rake aborted!     Unknown database 'depot_development'

The development portion of my database.yml file looks like this:

development:       adapter: mysql       database: depot_development       username: root       password: root       host: localhost       socket: /Applications/MAMP/tmp/mysql/mysql.sock

I added the socket line after I installed MAMP as per a tutorial... But when I am in the terminal and I want to do something with the database, like;

bio4054059:depot rmorourk$ mysql -uroot depot_development     -bash: mysql: command not found

I get the error on the second line --- any advise? I assume this has to be a issue of im not telling something to look in the right somewhere, but I am about ready to put my fist in the wall on this thing. I would LOVE some advise!

Thanks!!

Hello Ryan,

Make sure you have only one mysql in ur machine and there is database with name 'depot_development' and try again.

Thanks, Sadeesh.

Hello Ryan,