mysql encrypt on rails?

Hi sorry, I'm a noob and my first language is not English.. I just started with ruby/rails 2 weeks a go, and this is the first time I am working with my mysql db. I have a mysql database were I store all the postfix/courier-imap,etc authentication's for this we use the mysql function encrypt() the problem is that I am making a front end on rails, and I have everything ready but when I enter the password field on the form created by rails, it will not encrypted of course because is not using the encrypt mysql function.. my question is.. 1. mysql/unix encrypt on rails/ruby? is String#crypt <http://corelib.rubyonrails.org/classes/String.html#M001529&gt; ? 2. I used ./script/generate scaffold users users so I can edit the files but were I should look to just modify one entry of the form? the password field, I need for the form to enter the data on encrypt form into the mysql database so postfix/courier can read it. 3. can I just pass a sql statement? if so how do I tell rails that everything like it is is ok but just this part of the form needs to be passed to encrypt before it writes it to the database?

better of all I been looking and Google for long before coming to ask the stupid questions here but all I can find is examples with SHA1 and yes I know encrypt is not good but for the use and compatibility with my mail I must use it.

Thanks and sorry for the noob questions.

<http://corelib.rubyonrails.org/classes/String.html#M001529&gt;

now I am stuck.. Considering my encrypt mysql column is named crypt...

class Users < ActiveRecord::Base

validates_presence_of :email, :crypt, :homedir, :maildir

attr_reader :crypt

def crypt=(pw)         @crypt = pw         salt = [Array.new(6){rand(256).chr}.join].pack("m").chomp # 2^48 combos         self.crypt = User.crypt.crypt(salt)         end

end

What I am doing wrong here? anyone have a howto to an example with crypt() ?

ReK2 escribió:

validates\_presence\_of :email, :crypt, :homedir, :maildir