mapping urls

I've been reading everything about routes but I can't seem to make this work..

I have a projects controller and my projects table contains id and name fields

I want to be able to navigate to myurl.com/projects/"name" instead of the default method or /projects/"id"

Seems like this should be pretty basic but I haven't been able to get it to work.

Appreciate the help.

Im having similar problems.

Im a total newbie and cant really understand how routes.rb generates default routes and paths in rails2.0.

EG:

<td><%= link_to 'Show', user_path(user) %></td>     <td><%= link_to 'Edit', edit_user_path(user) %></td>     <td><%= link_to 'Destroy', user, :confirm => 'Are you sure?', :method => :delete %></td>

Seems to render paths like this in my index

/appname/users/ for Show /appname/users//edit/ for Edit /appname/users/ for Destroy

What do I have to do to get things like user_path(user), edit_user_path(user), etc to render properly?

Should have said I have the following in my routes.rb file already

ActionController::Routing::Routes.draw do |map|   map.resources :users

map.users 'users', :controller => "users", :action => "index"   map.show_user 'user/:id', :controller => "users", :action => "show"   map.edit_user 'user/:id/edit', :controller => "users", :action => "edit"

end

Am I missing something stupid?

Dale Cunnigham wrote:

Should have said I have the following in my routes.rb file already

ActionController::Routing::Routes.draw do |map|   map.resources :users

map.users 'users', :controller => "users", :action => "index"   map.show_user 'user/:id', :controller => "users", :action => "show"   map.edit_user 'user/:id/edit', :controller => "users", :action => "edit"

end

Am I missing something stupid?

@Dale:

As an exercise for the reader, comment your three map statements in routes.rb, then run a rake routes (I usually route that output to a file for easier reading). At first glance, you shouldn't need any of your custom maps.