(Many-to-many)-to many

I'm very new at rails and wondering if ActiveRecord supports (many-to- many)-to many relationships.

For example: I have recipes, ingredients, and cookingmethods. Recipes have many ingredients, and ingredients are in many recipes. For each ingredient in a recipe, there is a different cooking method. For example, potatoes in a salad are diced, but potatoes in potato chips are sliced. Example database tables:

recipes: id, name recipes_ingredients: id, recipe_id, ingredient_id ingredients: ingredient_id, name cookingmethods: id, name recipes_ingredients_cookingmethods: recipe_ingredient_id, cookingmethod_id

I looked at through associations, but those seemed to deal only with many-to-many relationships.

Thanks,

Gerry

I'm, looking at something similar, try this (http://groups.google.com/group/rubyonrails-talk/browse_frm/thread/ b4e27651fb149e48?lnk=igtc) and let me know how you get on? I'd be interested in seeing your model and any extra finder methods you add...

Feel free to gTalk me

J

To do this, you have your ingredients, recipes and cooking_methods tables, as well as a join table… let’s call this recipe_ingredients. This would have foreign key columns, one for each of the other tables.

Recipe

has_many :recipe_ingredients has_many :ingredients, :through => :recipe_ingredients has_many :cooking_methods, :through => :recipe_ingredients

Ingredient has_many :recipe_ingredients has_many :recipes, :through => :recipe_ingredients has_many :cooking_methods, :through => :recipe_ingredients

CookingMethod has_many :recipe_ingredients has_many :ingredients, :through => :recipe_ingredients has_many :recipes, :through => :recipe_ingredients

RecipeIngredient belongs_to :recipe belongs_to :ingredient belongs_to :cooking_method

There. It’s quite easy really. You just have to break down three-way relationships into two way ones, and that’ll solve any (database) relationship problems.

Hope this helps, -Nathan