Link as a link AND as a function

Hi there,

I am relatively new to Rails and I am trying to do a fairly common task. I have a page that displays a series of links that go to offsite URLS. Next to each link is a counter that shows how many times that link has been clicked-through. I would like to be able to have the user click on a the link, be directed to the links address, AND at the same time, have a function create and add a "click-through" to the "clicks" database.

I was reading about the link_to_function helper but that doesn't seem to be quite what I want, but then again, I may not be understanding it completely.

Does anyone have any method for doing anything similar in their apps? I would love an help or advice.

Thank you in advance.

Quoting Michael Murillo <lists@ruby-forum.com>:

Hi there,

I am relatively new to Rails and I am trying to do a fairly common task. I have a page that displays a series of links that go to offsite URLS. Next to each link is a counter that shows how many times that link has been clicked-through. I would like to be able to have the user click on a the link, be directed to the links address, AND at the same time, have a function create and add a "click-through" to the "clicks" database.

I was reading about the link_to_function helper but that doesn't seem to be quite what I want, but then again, I may not be understanding it completely.

Link to a function like the following. It makes a GET request to the server and opens a new window to the url. The link_to also follows.

HTH,   Jeffrey

<%= link_to_function truncate(article.title, 60),     "clickThru('#{article.url}','#{article[:id]}', 'click')",     :title => article.feed.title, :href => article[:id] %>

function clickThru(url, id, verb) {   new Ajax.Request('/articles/'+id+'/'+verb,         {asynchronous:true, evalScripts:true, method:'get'});   window.open(url); }

Jeffrey L. Taylor wrote: