Just started with RubyOnRails

Dear gentlemen/madams,

i am in need to develop a program that is supposed to use the web as its primary support for user interface. It is supposed to be developed in three tier: model, logic, view. I do enjoy programming and started to develop it in ANSI C. But since i would like to keep focused on my business stuff i decided to forget using C in favor of Ruby On Rails.

I would like to have access to something easy for using and deploying ...

I have just visited the rubyonrails web site and download it for my windows desktop. I should admit i am tottaly confused by this new technology. Not because there is no documentation, but because of excess of it.

In such context (rubyonrails): Where does it start (ruby)? Where does it end? And about rails? Where is its begin/finish ? I am a total beginner and knows nothing about the subject.

My application is supposed to be in web 2.0! Is rubyonrails+mysql a good approach? Does anybody here use such? I would like to use rubyonrails for deploying my web 2.0 web application. Could some experienced developer here provide (based on his/her own experience with rubyonrails) a carefull list on reading tutorials for my learing period before i can reach my goal?

Thanks a lot for your time and cooperation.

Best regards.

hey, i'm a new ruby on rails developer too, having used php and asp.net in the past for my server side web development, RoR was definitely a new concept of development for me.

since you're using windows, if you haven't already, i'd suggest you download and install instantrails, which is available at

http://rubyforge.org/projects/instantrails/

it has everything you need to get up and running with RoR, including Apache, Mysql, Mongrel, RoR framework and helper scripts, etc

once installed i'd suggest this tutorial for InstantRails specifically;

http://instantrails.rubyforge.org/tutorial/index.html