Is Ruby the right tool for our next intranet?

Hello RubyOnRails user, I am completely new to RoR and should familiarize myself with it, but also make statements: “Is Ruby the right tool for our next intranet ?” One of the most important conditions will be that we need to read / write several databases in parallel. The following task as a requirement:

1. Standard: postgresql for development: test: production: everything for Ruby itself (read / write …)
  2. MS-SQL database: master data (read only)
  3. MS-SQL database: machine data (read / write) Can someone tell me if that’s possible? So far I have only read sqllite DBs in “database.yml”. Has anyone given me an example with Microsoft SQL Server too? That would be great. Thank you very much, WVRoR

Hello!

Rails has always had support for a wide range of SQL database engines. MySQL, Postgres, Oracle, MS-SQL, FrontBase, SQLite, etc., and a fair number of non-SQL databases like Mongo and the like. This is all handled at the database adapter level, and even if Rails proper doesn’t carry an official adapter, there are third-party adapters (I’m thinking here of Oracle, which I use at work). In this earliest and simplest form, Rails’s multi-database feature referred to being able to support one application and all its models with one database (at a time).

Every Rails since version 1 has been able to connect the same application code (Ruby) to one database for test, another for development, and yet another for production (and more, those are just the basic 3 environments you get “for free” when you spin up a new application) if you wanted or needed to do that. The unsung benefit of the ActiveRecord ORM is that the underlying database is just dumb storage, and you don’t have to code specifically to it if you don’t want or need to.