Is it a good idea for me to learn Ruby on Rails?

I know HTML and CSS, but I have very little Javascript experience and very little programing knowlege.( Ruby ) I have decided to learn back-end web development. I choose Rails over Node.js

So please can you tell me if it would be a good idea to learn Node.js for or I should learn Ruby on Rails?

Go with .php and MySQL programming directly to begin with, incorporating CSS, JQuery etc. Once you’re comfortable with that, have a look at Rails.

Go with .php and MySQL programming directly to begin with, incorporating CSS, JQuery etc. Once you’re comfortable with that, have a look at Rails.

There is no point a beginner learning php, he may never need it. Just go with Ruby and Rails. If you do not know programming at all then it might be best to start with a Ruby primer to get the basics of programming, then move on to Rails.

Colin

i know ruby basic well, and what about learning other option like node.js over Rails

i know ruby basic well, and what about learning other option like node.js over Rails

You said you had very little programming knowledge. As far as rails vs node.js is concerned it depends on what you want to develop. Googling for node.js rails will give lots of hits including [1] which is a brief comparison, but no doubt you have already googled and seen those.

[1] http://wmilesn.com/2012/05/code/node-js-versus-ruby-on-rails/

Colin

Like Colin rightly said, first figure out what you want to develop. If you are a beginner with no development experience, it doesn’t really matter which one you start with.

Dheeraj Kumar

i want to develop all type of apps => traditional to Real time

Like I said, you’re a beginner, so it doesn’t matter what you start with. What matters is what you get really good at.

Dheeraj Kumar

and what about live streaming in rails 4 can it can be compare with node.js or espress.js