Installing Ruby on Rails on Leopard

I am completely new to Ruby on Rails, and programming in general, and so I have what imagine are two pretty idiotic questions:

1) I am trying to install all of the components I need to run RoR on OS X Leopard (following instructions at Andrew Nesbitt | Andrew is a software developer, based in Somerset, UK. He spends most of his days programming in Ruby, contributing to open source projects and organising local developer user groups.).

I got up to the part where I type "sudo gem update" into Terminal, and all was well, until I got this error:

I am completely new to Ruby on Rails, and programming in general, and so I have what imagine are two pretty idiotic questions:

1. I am trying to install all of the components I need to run RoR on OS X Leopard (following instructions at

http://teabass.com/super-simple-ruby-on-rails-install-with-macports-for-leopard/#comment-1993 ).

I got up to the part where I type “sudo gem update” into Terminal, and all was well, until I got this error:

Run the following on a terminal:

gem env

to see current gem version. The latest version is 1.0.1. You have to upgrade the Ruby Gems before upgrading the gems on your machine. So, run: sudo gem update --system.

If it hangs then try:

sudo gem install rubygems-update sudo update_rubygems

Any thoughts on how to get past this?

1. Before I hit the above snag, I accidentally selected "fastthread

1.0.1 (mswin32)" instead of “fastthread 1.0.1 (ruby)”, during the gem update. How can I now install the correct version of fastthread? (not even sure what that is, but it seems important).

Just do sudo gem uninstall fastthread and then do sudo gem install fastthread.

If I were you, I would follow Hivelogic article on installing the Rails stack.

Thanks! Now a follow-up question:

I ran:

sudo gem update --system

It updated me to 1.0.1. Do I now have to reinstall gems like capistrano and rails?