Installation and versioning issues

Ok, I'm new to Rails, and I was hoping to get some advice on how to get started.

I'm coming from a .NET background, and from what I've seen of Rails, it looks perfect for a little web idea I had. So I got a book from the library and sat down to install it on my Ubuntu box. Immediately I hit versioning issues.

- I installed ruby with apt-get and it gave me 1.8.7. I'm cool with this as I'm new to Ruby as well, and am ignorant to the differences between versions.

- Installed rubygems and I got 1.3.5. Again, I don't know the difference

- I ran 'sudo gem install rails', and it blew up on me, saying that I needed rubygems 1.3.6 or higher. When I do a gem list, it shows rails(3.0.0), which I hear just came out a week or two ago. Again, I don't know the difference so that's why I'm here. The book I got from the library is older(2007) and using Rails 1.2.3.

So my question is: what's the easiest way to get this setup? Is there a major difference between the versions of Rails, and if so, what is it? I just need a plain vanilla setup so I can learn about MVC and such. This web app is pretty basic, I was just wanting some basic ActiveRecord, a few Erb templates and a few dozen lines of ruby business logic.

Can someone point me in the right direction?

library and sat down to install it on my Ubuntu box. Immediately I hit versioning issues.

- I installed ruby with apt-get and it gave me 1.8.7. I'm cool with this as I'm new to Ruby as well, and am ignorant to the differences between versions.

1.8.7 is fine.

Ubuntu (and Debian) have some issues with rubygems... try installing it directly...

http://rubygems.org/

- I ran 'sudo gem install rails', and it blew up on me, saying that I needed rubygems 1.3.6 or higher. When I do a gem list, it shows rails(3.0.0), which I hear just came out a week or two ago. Again, I don't know the difference so that's why I'm here. The book I got from the library is older(2007) and using Rails 1.2.3.