incorrect number of arguments

I'm sorry if this should be in the Ruby forum. I decided to put it here as i'm developing in rails but I'm new to both. I am also wondering if I'm putting the methods into the right files in rails, therefore I thought to post in the rails forum.

I am making an appointment booking app and I have a very basic design. I have created an appointments scaffold with name:string phone:string email:string numpeople:integer date:date timeslot:string. On the view for creating a new appointment I have stated that appointment 1 is 9-11am, appointment 2 is 12-2pm, appointment 3 is 3-5pm and appointment 4 is 5 - 7pm. The user is asked to enter 1,2,3 or 4.

When the user clicks on "make appointment" I'm trying to interrupt the appointments controller (create method) so that I can check if the date&&timeslot are nil. if that is the case, the system should continue on to create the appointment, if not then I want to redirect to somewhere else.

My code is not working and I'm very stuck (as I said I'm very new to this) Am I going about this in the correct way? I am aware this is not the best way to go about it, but this is the simplist way I know when I am not familiar with the language and framework, so please humour my roundabout methods :slight_smile:

Please can anyone give me some pointers. (The entire appointments controller is mentioned at the bottom of this post, in case it is required)

def create # what I have for create so far     @appointment = Appointment.new(appointment_params)     @appointments.find(params[:date, :timeslot])